Since ancient times, Fethiye has been a significant settlement center.
In ancient times, this area was known as Telmessos and was inhabited by the Lycians, which means “people of the Land of Light.” Fethiye, which was under the rule of empires such as Egypt, Rome, and Byzantium in the past years, finally passed from the Ottoman Empire to Turkey.
The final name of the district became Fethiye, in memory of the crash of the plane of martyr Fethi Bey, one of Turkey’s first pilots near Teberiye. Kayaköy, also known as the ghost village of Fethiye, is a historical settlement constructed on the slope of a hill. It was abandoned with the population exchange in 1923 and Turks began to live here. This village was abandoned later on.
Afterwards, it was badly damaged by the 1957 Fethiye Earthquake and took the appearance of today’s half-destroyed historical houses. If you happen to be in Fethiye, don’t forget to go to this great ghost village that completely covers the slopes of a hill and experience its magnificent view.
Fethiye Museum is another must-see in Fethiye, which has a unique historical past. There are artifacts from the late Ottoman era dating back to 3000 BC at this museum.
Unique artifacts on display at Fethiye Museum include the Trilingual Inscription (Lycian, Greek, Aramaic), Izraza Monument, Bilingual Inscription (Karca-Greek), and votives dedicated to the God-Hero Kakasbos. Also, the remains of Byzantine architecture can be seen in the structure of the museum.
On the other hand, Cleopatra’s Bay in Göcek, Muğla, is one of the most popular bays for yacht trips. The location has ancient ruins from the Lycian era. Under the bay’s waters, the remains of ancient baths may be found. The bay took its name from this bath, which is said to have been built by Cleopatra.